# Origami Risk alternatives: what to weigh

> Considering a move from Origami Risk? What to look for in an alternative, who each option suits, and how migration works.

Source: https://incidentkit.ai/alternatives/origami-risk · Updated Oct 5, 2026

**Origami Risk**: A configurable cloud platform for risk, safety and insurance, with a healthcare line for patient safety and claims.

Origami Risk is a cloud platform that grew out of risk management systems. It covers claims and policy administration, environmental health and safety, compliance, and a healthcare line for patient safety, claims, peer review and employee health. Staff can report by app, QR code, portal or anonymous link. Origami says its AI features are opt in.

**Best for:** Health systems, surgery centers, senior living, insurers, third party administrators, risk pools, public entities and employers. Strongest where incidents connect to claims and insurance.

**Ownership:** Privately held. The latest ownership news found is a 2018 minority investment from Spectrum Equity. No later change was found.

## Pricing

- **Model:** Priced by quote and sold through sales. Scope depends on solutions, sites and integrations.
- **Published:** no
- No prices are published; the public path is a demo request. Origami sells incidents, claims, EHS, GRC and insurance as solutions on one platform. Ask for healthcare pieces and EHS pieces, such as OSHA recordkeeping, itemized.

## Feature comparison

| Feature | IncidentKit | Origami Risk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Self-serve start | Yes: Start free and report your first incident the same day. | No: Public calls to action are demo requests. You cannot sign up on your own. |
| Public pricing | Yes: Free Open plan; Regulated listed per site per month; Network by quote. | No: No prices or plan tiers on the public site. |
| Free plan | Yes: Open plan: unlimited reporters, 50 incidents a month, for non-patient incidents. | Not stated publicly: No free plan or trial is mentioned on the pages reviewed. |
| AI-assisted intake | Yes: Lauren asks follow-ups and drafts the report; a person always reviews and signs. | Not stated publicly: AI appears across the platform, such as workflow summaries, claims summaries and analytics, and in routing for healthcare events. Intake that turns a narrative into a report is not described. |
| Voice reporting | Rolling out: Voice intake is rolling out. | Not stated publicly: Voice reporting is not mentioned on the pages reviewed. |
| Mobile and QR reporting | Yes: Installable web app, QR quick report, offline queue for quick reports. | Yes: A mobile app for incidents and audits. Reports also come in by QR code, secure portal or anonymous link, with photos, video and files. |
| Investigation and RCA tools | Partial: Contributing factors and five whys today; fishbone and fault-tree templates rolling out. | Yes: Investigations include root cause analysis. The healthcare page lists it under patient safety and quality. |
| Corrective action (CAPA) workflow | Yes: Owner, due date, evidence, effectiveness check; closure requires verification. | Yes: Investigations can assign corrective actions and track progress. |
| QAPI and accreditation reporting | Yes: QAPI summary and per-incident packets; survey packets rolling out. | Partial: The healthcare page cites compliance workflows for CMS, Joint Commission, OSHA and HIPAA. QAPI summaries are not described. |
| OSHA 300, 300A, 301 support | Rolling out: OSHA 300, 300A and 301 outputs are rolling out. | Yes: The EHS solution lists OSHA 300, 300A and 301 forms and electronic submission. It is separate from patient safety, so confirm it is in your quote. |
| Multi-site and roles | Yes: Organizations, facilities, six roles, SSO. | Yes: The healthcare page describes risk and compliance across 50+ locations, with benchmarking. |
| Open API | Partial: Read API and signed webhooks; write API on the roadmap. | Yes: REST APIs, developer docs and Databricks Delta Sharing are described. Okta lists SAML and OIDC single sign-on (SSO). |
| HIPAA BAA available | Yes: BAA included on Regulated and Network plans. | Not stated publicly: BAA terms are not stated on the public pages reviewed. Origami's trust center could not be read without scripts. |

"Not stated publicly" means the vendor does not say either way. It is not the same as no. Verified Oct 5, 2026.

## Origami Risk strengths

- Incident data can feed claims, insurance and EHS in one system, which suits groups that self insure or run captives.
- Origami says it earned the top client satisfaction score in Redhand Advisors' 2025 RMIS Report (net promoter score 64). KLAS gives its loyalty an A.
- An Epic link lets a care provider launch an incident from the patient record, with patient and encounter details carried over.
- Many ways to report: app, QR code, portal and anonymous link, with forms that prefill from HR and payroll.
- Covers staff injury recordkeeping through EHS (OSHA 300, 300A, 301) beside patient safety events.

## Trade-offs to weigh

- No published pricing and no way to start without sales.
- A broad platform, so teams that only need incidents buy into more.
- Public AI material centers on claims and analytics. AI at incident intake is not described.
- No setting packs are published for surgery centers or senior living, so expect to configure.
- BAA terms and SSO setup details are not visible without sales.

## Choose Origami Risk if

- You are a system with many hospitals, or one that self insures, and want incidents tied to claims and insurance.
- You use Epic and want clinicians to launch incidents from the chart.
- You need OSHA records and patient safety events on one platform and can staff its setup.
- You want analyst recognition and a broad suite to grow into.

## Choose IncidentKit if

- You run surgery centers, nursing homes, home health, hospice or behavioral health sites and want packs for them.
- You want per site pricing you can read, a BAA on the regulated plan and setup done for you.
- You want [Lauren](https://incidentkit.ai/product/lauren) to take a plain account and draft the report for a person to sign.
- You want incident reporting through verified corrective action without claims or insurance software.

## Switching from Origami Risk

- You outgrew spreadsheets but not into a risk platform.
- Sites need healthcare packs set up for them.
- The team wants public pricing and a lighter start.

Origami does not publish export formats for incident records. Ask your administrator for incidents, investigations, actions and attachments with dates and IDs kept. IncidentKit imports CSV history and sets up migration for you. See [import and migration](https://incidentkit.ai/product/import-and-migration).

## Frequently asked questions

### How does Origami Risk price its software?

Origami Risk does not publish prices. Buyers get a quote after a demo. It depends on the solutions, sites and integrations you include, so ask for healthcare modules and any EHS OSHA tools itemized.

### Does Origami Risk integrate with Epic?

Origami describes an Epic link for Patient Safety and Quality. A care provider launches an incident from the patient record, and name, birth date and encounter details carry over. Confirm which Epic versions and fields apply.

### Does Origami Risk have AI for incident reporting?

Origami describes AI across its platform, but intake that turns a narrative into a report is not described. It cites workflow summaries, Email Assist, claims summaries, analytics and routing. Origami says AI is opt in.

### Can Origami Risk handle OSHA logs and patient safety events together?

Yes, if both are in your quote. OSHA 300, 300A and 301 forms sit in EHS, and event reporting and root cause analysis sit in healthcare, on one platform. Ask for them scoped together, with roles that keep injury records apart from patient events.

### How does KLAS rate Origami Risk?

In KLAS's 2025 ranking, Origami Risk Platform scored 82.1 out of 100 from 17 organizations, fourth of six, against an 83.9 market average, with a loyalty grade of A. Origami also cites the Redhand Advisors 2025 RMIS Report for client satisfaction.

## Sources

- [Origami Risk: home page](https://www.origamirisk.com/)
- [Origami Risk: healthcare solutions](https://www.origamirisk.com/industries/healthcare/)
- [Origami Risk: incidents and events management](https://www.origamirisk.com/risk/incident-management-systems)
- [Origami Risk: environment, health and safety](https://www.origamirisk.com/risk/ehs/)
- [Origami Risk: API access and integrations](https://www.origamirisk.com/platform/api-access/)
- [Origami Risk: Epic EMR-to-incident launch](https://www.origamirisk.com/resources/insights/solution-showcase-epic-emr-origami-incident-launch-reducing-manual-entry)
- [Origami Risk: AI sell sheet (August 2025)](https://www.origamirisk.com/wp-content/uploads/2023/08/OrigamiRisk_SellSheet_Origami-Risk-AI_20250829.pdf)
- [Origami Risk: Spring 2026 release](https://www.origamirisk.com/platform/innovation-spring-2026)
- [Origami Risk: private equity and the RMIS market (Spectrum Equity investment)](https://www.origamirisk.com/resources/news/private-equity-and-rmis-market)
- [Origami Risk press release on the 2025 RMIS Report (2025-05-05)](https://www.silicon.co.uk/press-release/origami-risk-earns-top-client-satisfaction-score-in-annual-rmis-report-for-sixth-consecutive-year)
- [Okta Integration Network: Origami Risk](https://www.okta.com/integrations/origamirisk/)
- [KLAS: 2025 Best in KLAS, Healthcare Safety, Risk and Compliance Management](https://klasresearch.com/best-in-klas-ranking/healthcare-safety-risk-and-compliance-management/2025/420)

Spot an error? Email hello@incidentkit.ai and we will correct it.
