# IncidentKit vs EHS Insight: honest comparison

> How IncidentKit and EHS Insight differ on intake, corrective actions, compliance packets, pricing and fit. Sources and dates included.

Source: https://incidentkit.ai/compare/ehs-insight · Updated Oct 5, 2026

**EHS Insight**: A modular EHS and ESG platform with offline mobile, a published starting price and an AI assistant connector.

EHS Insight is an EHS and ESG platform from StarTex Software. It has 32 modules, including incident management with built in 300, 300A and 301 form support, investigation tools, corrective action tracking and offline mobile reporting. Its AI reviews incident descriptions, analyzes photos and detects serious injury and fatality precursors. A Model Context Protocol connector lets customers query their data from Claude, ChatGPT or Microsoft Copilot.

**Best for:** Small to large employers in construction, manufacturing, energy, logistics, chemicals and government. They want a modular EHS system they can onboard themselves.

**Ownership:** StarTex Software LLC

**Scale (company-reported):** Company states over 500,000 users (incident management page, checked 2026-10-05) and says it has operated since 2009.

## Pricing

- **Model:** Annual subscription priced by modules and by the number of employees and contractors; Enterprise license bundle and support packages
- **Published:** yes
- The pricing page shows the small and medium business solution 'starting at $5k per year'. Final quotes depend on modules and headcount. Terms are annual by default. An Enterprise bundle includes every module. Enterprise Support adds 40 onboarding hours and four dedicated support hours a month; a one time Rapid Success Package is lighter.

## Feature comparison

| Feature | IncidentKit | EHS Insight |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Self-serve start | Yes: Start free and report your first incident the same day. | Partial: A free trial, an instant demo with no sales call and self onboarding are advertised. Larger rollouts buy onboarding hours and support. |
| Public pricing | Yes: Free Open plan; Regulated listed per site per month; Network by quote. | Partial: The pricing page shows $5k per year as a starting point for small and medium businesses. The final price depends on modules and headcount. |
| Free plan | Yes: Open plan: unlimited reporters, 50 incidents a month, for non-patient incidents. | No: A free trial is offered; no free plan is listed. |
| AI-assisted intake | Yes: Lauren asks follow-ups and drafts the report; a person always reviews and signs. | Partial: AI reviews incident descriptions for missing concepts and analyzes photos, and the AI Copilot can draft reports. Conversational follow up is not described. |
| Voice reporting | Rolling out: Voice intake is rolling out. | Not stated publicly: Voice reporting is not described on the pages reviewed. |
| Mobile and QR reporting | Yes: Installable web app, QR quick report, offline queue for quick reports. | Yes: A native app works with or without a connection and syncs later. QR codes and links open forms, with anonymous submissions. |
| Investigation and RCA tools | Partial: Contributing factors and five whys today; fishbone and fault-tree templates rolling out. | Yes: Built-in investigation tools help identify underlying causes and prevent repeat incidents. |
| Corrective action (CAPA) workflow | Yes: Owner, due date, evidence, effectiveness check; closure requires verification. | Yes: Tasks, deadlines and follow up actions are tracked until incidents close. AI suggests actions from photos on an investigation. |
| QAPI and accreditation reporting | Yes: QAPI summary and per-incident packets; survey packets rolling out. | Not stated publicly: No QAPI or CMS content was found in the pages reviewed. |
| OSHA 300, 300A, 301 support | Rolling out: OSHA 300, 300A and 301 outputs are rolling out. | Yes: Built in 300, 300A and 301 form support, with tracking of OSHA, WCB, RIDDOR and MSHA needs. |
| Multi-site and roles | Yes: Organizations, facilities, six roles, SSO. | Yes: Reporting by facility, region and business entity across an organization. |
| Open API | Partial: Read API and signed webhooks; write API on the roadmap. | Yes: RESTful API, SSO, a Power BI connector, and an MCP connector over OAuth for Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot. |
| HIPAA BAA available | Yes: BAA included on Regulated and Network plans. | Not stated publicly: The security page lists ISO 27001, AWS hosted SOC 2 and SOC 3 reports, GDPR and EU US data privacy. HIPAA and a BAA are not stated. |

"Not stated publicly" means the vendor does not say either way. It is not the same as no. Verified Oct 5, 2026.

## EHS Insight strengths

- A published starting price, free trial, instant demo and self onboarding make evaluation easier than with quote only vendors.
- Mobile first: offline mode, QR codes with anonymous submissions, and 30 language options.
- AI beyond writing help: description review, photo analysis, SIF precursor detection and an MCP connector to AI assistants.
- OSHA 300, 300A and 301 support plus WCB, RIDDOR and MSHA tracking.
- Start with one module and add more, or take an Enterprise bundle with all 32.

## Trade-offs to weigh

- Price depends on employees and contractors as well as modules. The published figure is a starting point.
- Enterprise support (onboarding hours, dedicated reps) is a separate paid package.
- The vendor calls itself standard out of the box, which may limit tailoring.
- Healthcare is not among the industries on the homepage, and no QAPI or BAA statement was found.
- Voice reporting is not described. The MCP connector moves live data into outside AI tools, which needs a data review.

## Choose EHS Insight if

- You want a modular EHS system with a published starting price and a free trial before you talk to sales.
- You need offline mobile, QR reporting and OSHA 300, 300A and 301 support in construction, energy, logistics or manufacturing.
- You want to query EHS data from Claude, ChatGPT or Copilot through a supported connector.
- You expect to add modules over time.

## Choose IncidentKit if

- Your incidents involve patients or residents, and you need a BAA, QAPI summaries and survey packets.
- You want one flat price per site, not pricing by employees, contractors and modules.
- You want Lauren to ask follow up questions and mark each draft field until a person signs off.
- You want a free plan for non patient incidents and one focused product.

## Switching

- Pricing tied to staff and contractors, not sites.
- Care setting needs fall outside an industrial EHS catalog.
- Wanting a smaller product focused on incidents.
- A preference for AI intake with follow up questions.

Export incidents, investigations and open corrective actions from EHS Insight using its reports, Power BI connector or API. IncidentKit imports CSV files and sets up migration for you. Keep archived OSHA 300 logs for the required retention period. OSHA 300, 300A and 301 exports are rolling out, so keep your current OSHA records until then.

## Frequently asked questions

### How much does EHS Insight cost?

The pricing page says the small and medium business solution starts at $5k per year. Final pricing depends on modules and the number of employees and contractors, with annual terms by default.

### Does EHS Insight have a free trial?

Yes. The site advertises a free trial and a free instant demo with no sales call. It does not list a permanent free plan.

### Does EHS Insight work offline?

Yes. The mobile app lets field teams run audits, complete inspections and file incident reports with or without a connection, and syncs when connectivity returns.

### What AI does EHS Insight have for incident reporting?

Its AI reviews incident descriptions for missing concepts, analyzes photos, suggests corrective actions and detects serious injury and fatality precursors. A separate connector exposes live data to Claude, ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot.

### Does EHS Insight support OSHA 300, 300A and 301 forms?

Yes. The incident management page says the module has built in 300, 300A and 301 form support and tracks needs such as OSHA, WCB, RIDDOR and MSHA.

## Sources

- [EHS Insight: incident management module](https://www.ehsinsight.com/solutions/modules/incident-management-software)
- [EHS Insight: pricing](https://www.ehsinsight.com/solutions/platform/pricing)
- [EHS Insight: AI solutions](https://www.ehsinsight.com/solutions/platform/ehs-insight-ai-solutions)
- [EHS Insight: platform overview](https://www.ehsinsight.com/solutions/platform)
- [EHS Insight: cloud security](https://www.ehsinsight.com/solutions/cloud-security)
- [EHS Insight: about us](https://www.ehsinsight.com/about-us)
- [EHS Insight: QR codes update](https://www.ehsinsight.com/blog/ehs-insight-introduces-qr-codes)
- [EHS Insight: homepage](https://www.ehsinsight.com/)

Spot an error? Email hello@incidentkit.ai and we will correct it.
