# IncidentKit vs MedTrainer: honest comparison

> How IncidentKit and MedTrainer differ on intake, corrective actions, compliance packets, pricing and fit. Sources and dates included.

Source: https://incidentkit.ai/compare/medtrainer · Updated Oct 5, 2026

**MedTrainer**: All in one workforce compliance software for healthcare: training, credentialing and a compliance suite with incident reporting.

MedTrainer is a healthcare compliance suite with three modules. Learning covers training. Credentialing covers provider files, enrollment, privileging and exclusion checks. Compliance covers policies, incident reporting, contracts, accreditation, safety data sheets and safety plans. Incident reporting is one module of compliance, not a stand alone safety system. It has mobile forms with photos, an anonymous option, routing, up to ten severity levels and location trend reports.

**Best for:** Surgery centers (listed first on its industry pages), health centers, hospitals, long term care and behavioral health. Best for one compliance officer who wants it all under one login.

**Ownership:** Investor-backed: MedTrainer announced a USD 43 million Series B led by Vista Equity Partners in April 2022, with Telescope Partners as an earlier investor. Later changes were not found.

**Scale (company-reported):** MedTrainer's company page (read 2026-10-05) lists 3,000 clients, 32,000+ healthcare sites, 800,000 users and 300+ employees. Its incident page says 99.8 percent of customers passed all surveys or inspections in the past year. This is company reported, not independently verified.

## Pricing

- **Model:** Three tiers priced by quote (essential, advanced, comprehensive), by users, modules and content. Incident reporting can be bought as part of compliance.
- **Published:** no
- The pricing page shows no prices and promises a custom quote within 24 to 48 hours. It mentions flexible contract terms. A free trial is not mentioned. The incident page says customers pay only for what they need.

## Feature comparison

| Feature | IncidentKit | MedTrainer |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Self-serve start | Yes: Start free and report your first incident the same day. | No: Public path is a demo and a custom quote. |
| Public pricing | Yes: Free Open plan; Regulated listed per site per month; Network by quote. | No: Tier names and a quote process are shown, but no prices. |
| Free plan | Yes: Open plan: unlimited reporters, 50 incidents a month, for non-patient incidents. | No: The pricing page lists three paid tiers and a quote path. No free plan or trial is mentioned. |
| AI-assisted intake | Yes: Lauren asks follow-ups and drafts the report; a person always reviews and signs. | Not stated publicly: AI tools include Course Expert, Upload Assistant and Compliance Coach (available), and Form Mapping and Policy Guardian (upcoming). None is described for incident intake. Users must accept AI suggestions. |
| Voice reporting | Rolling out: Voice intake is rolling out. | Not stated publicly: Voice reporting is not mentioned on the pages reviewed. |
| Mobile and QR reporting | Yes: Installable web app, QR quick report, offline queue for quick reports. | Yes: Mobile-friendly forms from any device, with photo attachments. No native app is claimed for incident reporting. |
| Investigation and RCA tools | Partial: Contributing factors and five whys today; fishbone and fault-tree templates rolling out. | Not stated publicly: Severity and trend reports are described. A root cause tool such as five whys or fishbone is not. |
| Corrective action (CAPA) workflow | Yes: Owner, due date, evidence, effectiveness check; closure requires verification. | Partial: Follow-up can assign training or link a policy, and the audit log shows who reviewed it. A corrective action plan with effectiveness checks is not described. |
| QAPI and accreditation reporting | Yes: QAPI summary and per-incident packets; survey packets rolling out. | Partial: ASC pages cite ASCQR and accreditation tracking, and courses for AAAHC, Quad A and the Joint Commission. QAPI summaries are not described. |
| OSHA 300, 300A, 301 support | Rolling out: OSHA 300, 300A and 301 outputs are rolling out. | Not stated publicly: Safety data sheets and safety plans are listed. OSHA 300, 300A and 301 recordkeeping is not described. |
| Multi-site and roles | Yes: Organizations, facilities, six roles, SSO. | Yes: Many locations run in one system, with consistent templates and location trend views. |
| Open API | Partial: Read API and signed webhooks; write API on the roadmap. | Partial: A public API gives read and write access to practitioner, division and location data. Incident records are not mentioned. Single sign-on (SSO) works with Google, Okta, Microsoft Entra ID, ADP and UKG Dimensions. |
| HIPAA BAA available | Yes: BAA included on Regulated and Network plans. | Not stated publicly: MedTrainer's security page says PHI is not stored in the platform and does not mention a BAA. A customer testimonial describes patient details in incident reports, so confirm in writing. |

"Not stated publicly" means the vendor does not say either way. It is not the same as no. Verified Oct 5, 2026.

## MedTrainer strengths

- One login for training, credentialing, policies and incident reports. An action can assign training or link a policy.
- A quote within 24 to 48 hours, and incident reporting can be scoped without every module.
- Mobile forms with photos, anonymous reports with no IP capture, ten severity levels and escalation when deadlines pass.
- Built for outpatient and ASC work (also rural and critical access hospitals, assisted living), with accreditation courses and ASCQR tracking.
- Security: SOC 2 Type 2 and SOC 3, TLS 1.3, AES-256 at rest, US only Azure hosting. AI can be turned off and stays out of model training by default.

## Trade-offs to weigh

- Incident reporting is one module in a compliance suite. No root cause tool, benchmarking or effectiveness check is described.
- MedTrainer says PHI is not stored in its platform, which may limit patient detail in reports. Confirm how it handles patient events.
- No published pricing and no trial mentioned. Buying starts with a call.
- Its AI tools target training, credentialing and policies.
- OSHA recordkeeping and BAA terms are not described publicly.

## Choose MedTrainer if

- You are a surgery center or outpatient group whose bigger need is training, credentialing and policies.
- You want one platform for staff training, provider files, policies and basic incident tracking.
- Your incident reports rarely need patient identifiers or formal root cause work.
- You want a quick quote and a vendor many ASCs and health centers already use.

## Choose IncidentKit if

- Incident reporting, investigations and corrective actions are the main job. Patient information must go in the report under a BAA.
- You want investigations with contributing factors and five whys, and actions that cannot close until verified.
- You want [Lauren](https://incidentkit.ai/product/lauren) to draft reports from plain accounts, with a person signing.
- You want QAPI summaries and survey packets from incident records, and published per site pricing.

## Switching

- Incident reports need patient detail or action tracking.
- The team wants a focused incident tool and keeps training elsewhere.
- Leaders want trends by cause, shift and equipment.

MedTrainer does not publish export formats for incident records, though admins can build filtered reports. Ask for incidents, notes, attachments and the activity log with dates intact. Many teams keep MedTrainer for training and move only incidents. IncidentKit imports CSV history and sets up migration for you. See [import and migration](https://incidentkit.ai/product/import-and-migration).

## Frequently asked questions

### How does MedTrainer price its software?

MedTrainer does not publish prices. Its pricing page describes three tiers priced by quote, with a custom quote in 24 to 48 hours. No free trial is mentioned. Ask whether incident reporting can be quoted alone.

### Can MedTrainer store patient information in incident reports?

MedTrainer's security page says PHI is not stored in its platform, and it does not mention a BAA. A customer testimonial describes patient details, so practice may vary. Ask in writing, and ask about a BAA, before using it for patient events.

### Does MedTrainer support anonymous incident reporting?

Yes. MedTrainer says admins can mark a form as anonymous. That removes the signature field and captures no personal data or IP address. Anonymous reports still follow normal routing and escalation.

### Is MedTrainer a replacement for dedicated incident reporting software?

It depends on the job. MedTrainer covers intake, routing, severity levels, escalation and trend reports. It does not publicly describe a root cause tool, effectiveness checks, benchmarking or OSHA recordkeeping.

### Who owns MedTrainer?

MedTrainer is investor backed. In April 2022 it announced a USD 43 million Series B led by Vista Equity Partners, with Telescope Partners as an earlier investor. Ownership may have changed, so confirm it when you buy.

## Sources

- [MedTrainer: home page](https://www.medtrainer.com/)
- [MedTrainer: incident reporting software](https://medtrainer.com/products/compliance-overview/incident-reporting/)
- [MedTrainer: pricing](https://medtrainer.com/pricing/)
- [MedTrainer: AI in MedTrainer](https://medtrainer.com/ai/)
- [MedTrainer: data security overview](https://medtrainer.com/security-overview)
- [MedTrainer: integrations and API](https://medtrainer.com/products/integrations/)
- [MedTrainer: company page (scale)](https://medtrainer.com/company/)
- [MedTrainer: compliance software for ambulatory surgery centers](https://medtrainer.com/who-we-serve/industries/ambulatory-surgery-centers/)
- [Healthcare IT Today: MedTrainer Series B led by Vista Equity Partners (2022-04-18)](https://www.healthcareittoday.com/2022/04/18/medtrainer-announces-43-million-series-b-funding-round-led-by-vista-equity-partners/)

Spot an error? Email hello@incidentkit.ai and we will correct it.
