# IncidentKit vs symplr: honest comparison

> How IncidentKit and symplr differ on intake, corrective actions, compliance packets, pricing and fit. Sources and dates included.

Source: https://incidentkit.ai/compare/symplr · Updated Oct 5, 2026

**symplr**: Enterprise operations software for hospitals, health systems and health plans, with symplr Safety for incident reporting.

symplr sells enterprise operations software to hospitals, health systems and health plans: workforce and scheduling, provider data and credentialing, compliance, and quality and safety. symplr Safety is its incident and event reporting product. It sits beside Midas Health Analytics for quality. The public Safety page describes incident capture, root cause analysis, corrective and preventive actions, mobile submission, dynamic forms, committee support and claims integration.

**Best for:** Hospitals and health systems, with deployment across many facilities. No surgery center, nursing home or home health package was found.

**Ownership:** Backed by Clearlake Capital Group and Charlesbank Capital Partners, per symplr's April 2026 announcement of a new chief executive.

**Scale (company-reported):** symplr's home page (read 2026-10-05) says it is trusted in 9 of 10 hospitals and by 400+ health plans. That covers all symplr products, not symplr Safety alone.

## Pricing

- **Model:** Priced by quote and sold through sales. Calls to action are 'see it in action' and 'schedule a conversation'.
- **Published:** no
- No pricing appears on the symplr Safety page. symplr sells workforce, credentialing, compliance and quality as separate lines, so ask what a Safety quote includes.

## Feature comparison

| Feature | IncidentKit | symplr |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Self-serve start | Yes: Start free and report your first incident the same day. | No: The public path is a demo or a sales conversation. |
| Public pricing | Yes: Free Open plan; Regulated listed per site per month; Network by quote. | No: No prices or plan tiers on the Safety page. |
| Free plan | Yes: Open plan: unlimited reporters, 50 incidents a month, for non-patient incidents. | Not stated publicly: No free plan or trial is mentioned on the pages reviewed. |
| AI-assisted intake | Yes: Lauren asks follow-ups and drafts the report; a person always reviews and signs. | Not stated publicly: The Safety page links to symplrAI and mentions AI in its workflows. AI help at incident intake is not described. |
| Voice reporting | Rolling out: Voice intake is rolling out. | Not stated publicly: Voice reporting is not mentioned on the pages reviewed. |
| Mobile and QR reporting | Yes: Installable web app, QR quick report, offline queue for quick reports. | Yes: The Safety page describes mobile access so staff can submit incidents at any hour. |
| Investigation and RCA tools | Partial: Contributing factors and five whys today; fishbone and fault-tree templates rolling out. | Yes: Root cause analysis is listed alongside incident capture. |
| Corrective action (CAPA) workflow | Yes: Owner, due date, evidence, effectiveness check; closure requires verification. | Yes: Corrective and preventive action management, with owners and real time tracking from report to resolution. |
| QAPI and accreditation reporting | Yes: QAPI summary and per-incident packets; survey packets rolling out. | Not stated publicly: Committee management and documentation support are listed, and the Joint Commission is a resource topic. QAPI or CMS reporting is not described. |
| OSHA 300, 300A, 301 support | Rolling out: OSHA 300, 300A and 301 outputs are rolling out. | Not stated publicly: OSHA recordkeeping is not mentioned on the Safety page. |
| Multi-site and roles | Yes: Organizations, facilities, six roles, SSO. | Yes: Deployment across multiple facilities is described. |
| Open API | Partial: Read API and signed webhooks; write API on the roadmap. | Not stated publicly: Claims integration is mentioned. Single sign-on (SSO) and an API are not described on the Safety page. |
| HIPAA BAA available | Yes: BAA included on Regulated and Network plans. | Not stated publicly: A business associate agreement is not mentioned on the public pages reviewed. |

"Not stated publicly" means the vendor does not say either way. It is not the same as no. Verified Oct 5, 2026.

## symplr strengths

- One vendor for much of hospital operations (workforce, credentialing, compliance, quality) beside safety.
- A full incident lifecycle is described, from capture and root cause analysis to corrective actions and committee reports.
- Claims integration and deployment across many facilities are stated capabilities.
- KLAS surveyed 36 organizations about symplr Quality Suite (Midas Health Analytics) in 2025, the second largest sample after RLDatix.
- Positions reporting as blame free, with dynamic forms that change based on what the reporter selects.

## Trade-offs to weigh

- Little public detail on Safety: SSO, API, BAA, OSHA, AI at intake and QAPI reporting are not described.
- No published pricing. Buying goes through sales.
- Enterprise hospital focus. No package for surgery centers, nursing homes, home health or hospice was found.
- Safety is one of many product lines. No satisfaction data for symplr Safety by name was found in the KLAS table.
- Positioned on its broader operations platform, so an incident only team should confirm scope.

## Choose symplr if

- You are a health system already using, or moving to, symplr for workforce, credentialing or compliance.
- You want incident data tied to Midas quality analytics and committee reports.
- You want deployment across many facilities from one operations vendor.
- You prefer a large, established vendor and an evaluation led by sales.

## Choose IncidentKit if

- You run surgery centers, nursing homes, home health, hospice or behavioral health sites and want packs for them.
- You want published per site pricing, a BAA on the regulated plan and no seats, modules or setup fee.
- You want conversational intake with [Lauren](https://incidentkit.ai/product/lauren), where a person signs every AI draft.
- You want to read what a product does, including SSO and API, before a sales call.

## Switching

- You want incident reporting without a wider operations suite.
- Small sites find an enterprise hospital product heavy.
- The team wants public pricing and specifics before a demo.

symplr does not publish export formats for incident data. Ask for incidents, investigations, actions and attachments with dates and IDs kept. IncidentKit imports CSV history and sets up migration for you. See [import and migration](https://incidentkit.ai/product/import-and-migration).

## Frequently asked questions

### How does symplr price its safety software?

symplr does not publish pricing for symplr Safety. The product page offers a demo and a sales conversation. It also sells workforce, credentialing, compliance and quality as separate lines, so ask what your quote bundles.

### What is symplr Safety, and how does it relate to Midas?

symplr Safety is symplr's incident and event reporting product. It covers incident capture, root cause analysis, corrective actions and committee support. The home page also lists Midas Health Analytics under quality. The pages do not say how the two fit together.

### Does symplr have AI for incident reporting?

symplr describes AI across its platform and links to symplrAI from the Safety page. AI help at incident intake, such as turning a narrative into a filled report, is not described. Ask what is live and whether a person reviews it.

### Who owns symplr?

symplr is private equity backed. Its April 2026 announcement of a new chief executive names Clearlake Capital Group and Charlesbank Capital Partners as backers. Ownership can change, so confirm it when you buy.

### How does KLAS rate symplr?

In KLAS's 2025 ranking, symplr Quality Suite (Midas Health Analytics) scored 78.9 from 36 organizations and symplr Compliance 77.2 from 17, against an 83.9 market average. symplr Safety is not listed by name. KLAS scores reflect customer interviews, not features.

## Sources

- [symplr: home page](https://www.symplr.com/)
- [symplr: symplr Safety product page](https://www.symplr.com/products/symplr-safety)
- [symplr: About](https://www.symplr.com/about)
- [Charlesbank: symplr names Venkat Kavarthapu chief executive officer (2026-04-13)](https://www.charlesbank.com/news/symplr-names-venkat-kavarthapu-chief-executive-officer/)
- [KLAS: 2025 Best in KLAS, Healthcare Safety, Risk and Compliance Management](https://klasresearch.com/best-in-klas-ranking/healthcare-safety-risk-and-compliance-management/2025/420)

Spot an error? Email hello@incidentkit.ai and we will correct it.
